top of page
Writer's picturehealthylikeabos

Can Ginger Solve My Health Problems?

Hello friends, long time no see...well no blog posts. This is what being a student, a mom, and prepping for surgery looks like.


I just wanted to hop on here really quick and tell you what I just read aboutGinger! As part of my homework for AFPA’s Holistic Health Coach Program, I was assigned to read Dr. Michael Greger’s book called ‘How Not To Die.’ I highly recommend this book! It’s been such an informative and easy-to-read-and-understand type of book!


Ginger has many nutritional benefits but can adding it to your diet help solve your health problems? Let's explore 3 areas in which Ginger may prove beneficial.


MIGRAINE RELIEF


As a long-time migraine sufferer, who is now in remission, I am always looking for tips and tricks to keep those nasty, pain-filled monsters at bay. Dr. Greger shares the results of a double-blind, randomized, controlled clinical trial that compared the effects of the use of ginger for the treatment of migraine headaches to sumatriptan (Imitrex)which is one of the leading medicines prescribed to treat migraine headaches. I know I have taken it before.

The results of the studies proved “Just ⅛ of a teaspoon of powdered ginger worked just as well and just as fast as the drug (and costs less than a penny). Most migraine sufferers started with moderate or severe pain, but after taking the drug or the ginger, ended up in mild pain or were entirely pain-free.”




Wow! What a great revelation! For those of you who are migraine sufferers, like myself, we know all too well that migraine medications often come with a price—side effects. However, if you stick to the ⅛ of a teaspoon as directed, there shouldn’t be any side effects. Dr Greger notes, “The only side effect reported for ginger was an upset stomach in about one out of twenty-five people. A whole tablespoon of ginger powder at one time on an empty stomach could irritate anyone, though.”


MENSTRUAL CRAMPS & OTHER SYMPTOMS


The next benefit of Ginger will be helpful to all of my female friends who suffer with menstrual cramps. I know, for me, cramps always seemed to get the best of me. I remember my mom having to take me home several times from school because the pain was so intense. For some, you may have a little pain in your stomach area, but for me it felt like knives stabbing out my insides. The pain would get so intense that sometimes I would pass out. It wasn’t until I had Ella that I realized that the pain was comparable to contractions. Also after having her my cramps ended. However, there is good news for you, your daughters, or friends who do suffer from terrible menstrual cramps—GINGER!


“Even just ⅛ of a teaspoon of ginger powder three times a day dropped pain from an eight to a six on a scale of one to ten, and down further to a three in the second month. And these women hadn’t been taking ginger all month; they started the day before their periods began, suggesting that even if it doesn’t seem to help much the first month, women should try sticking with it.”


A study was completed that compared the use of ginger to treat menstrual cramps versus 400 mg of Ibuprofen. The study found that “the ginger worked just as effectively as this leading drug. Unlike the drug, ginger can also reduce the amount of menstrual bleeding, from about a half cup per period down to a quarter cup.”


That is just unbelievable! I wish I would have known this years ago!


The one tip that I am going to try is this: “Ginger intake of ⅛ of a teaspoon twice daily starting a week before your period can yield a significant drop in premenstrual mood, physical, and behavioral symptoms.” If this works, my husband will buy stock in Ginger—if that’s a thing.


NAUSEA RELIEF


The last tip Dr. Greger provides regarding Ginger is how it can help people who suffer from nausea. Being nauseated is the worst, especially when you are on a trip or out with friends. Sometimes all the Dramamine in the world can’t solve the problem.


In 1982, the use of Ginger beat out the use of Dramamine to reduce the symptoms of nausea in a head-to-head test in which blindfolded volunteers were spun around in a tilted, rotating chair.

“Ginger is now considered a nontoxic, broad-spectrum antiemetic (antivomiting agent) effective in countering nausea during motion sickness, pregnancy, chemotherapy, and radiation, and after surgery.”


Dr. Greger provides a recipe for his Lemon-Ginger Apple Chews:

“In a blender, liquefy one peeled lemon with a palm-sized “hand” of fresh gingerroot. Use the mixture to coat thin slices of four apples, and then place them in a dehydrator until they reach desired chewiness. I like mine a little moist, but you can dehydrate them further to make lemon-ginger apple chips, which store longer than the chews. For me, a few pieces eaten about 20 minutes before travel works wonders (for motion sickness).”


I don’t know about you, but I am excited to try this. I am considering making some chews to see if they help after my surgery.


One final note from Dr. Greger: “Ginger is generally considered safe during pregnancy, but the maximum recommended daily dose of fresh ginger while pregnant is 20 grams (about four teaspoons of freshly grated gingerroot). Any more may have uterus-stimulating effects. Women using my apple chews recipe to combat morning sickness should spread out the four apples’ worth of chews or chips over several days.”


Friends, I hope you enjoyed Dr. Greger’s tips and tricks for the use of Ginger! I know I did! Send me a message to let me know how you plan to add Ginger to your diet, have used it in the past, & your results! I am always happy to hear from you! It makes my day!

 

All quotes were taken from the book:

‘How Not To Die’

By: Michael Greger, M.D., FACLM

 

To follow Dr. Greger or to purchase his book, please visit the following links:


 

For more information of AFPA'S Holistic Health Coach Program or other programs they offer please visit their website.

 

To follow me, please visit the following links:




 

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page